Take Action Against the Nationality and Borders Bill

In the last few days one of our Board members Tre Ventour has written about his concerns about the Nationality and Borders Bill. It will be going through to the House of Lords on the 4th of January. We are asking all our friends and supporters to write to at least one Lord. We are particularly asking those who identify as Christian or Jewish to contact some of those in the faiths that hold a seat in the House of Lords.

These are potential allies (all Lords temporal), based on HoL speech in 2021, who NREC friends and supporters might write to to encourage them to attend and use their vote.

  • Lord Dubs
  • Baroness Hamwee
  • Baroness Bennett
  • Lord Berkeley
  • Lord Desai
  • Lord Kerr
  • Lord Harries

These are Lords for members to write to  

Lords Spiritual:

Two archbishops and three diocesan bishops who are Members ex-officio:

  • Most Revd and Rt Hon Justin Welby, Archbishop of Canterbury
  • Most Revd and Rt Hon Stephen Cottrell, Archbishop of York
  • Rt Revd and Rt Hon Sarah Mullally DBE, Bishop of London
  • Rt Revd Paul Butler, Bishop of Durham
  • Rt Revd Tim Dakin, Bishop of Winchester

21 diocesan bishops:

  • Rt Revd David Urquhart, Bishop of Birmingham
  • Rt Revd John Inge, Bishop of Worcester
  • Rt Revd Christopher Cocksworth, Bishop of Coventry
  • Rt Revd Steven Croft, Bishop of Oxford
  • Rt Revd James Newcome, Bishop of Carlisle
  • Rt Revd Alan Smith, Bishop of St Albans
  • Rt Revd Donald Allister, Bishop of Peterborough
  • Rt Revd Stephen Conway, Bishop of Ely
  • Rt Revd Christopher Chessun, Bishop of Southwatk
  • Rt Revd Nicholas Baines, Bishop of Leeds
  • Rt Revd Rachel Treweek, Bishop of Gloucester
  • Rt Revd Christopher Lowson, Bishop of Lincoln
  • Rt Revd Martin Warner, Bishop of Chichester
  • Rt Revd Vivienne Faull, Bishop of Bristol
  • Rt Revd Libby Lane, Bishop of Derby
  • Rt Revd Julian Henderson, Bishop of Blackburn
  • Rt Revd David Walker, Bishop of Manchester
  • Rt Revd Guli Francis-Dehqani, Bishop of Chelmsford 
  • Rt Revd Robert Atwell, Bishop of Exeter
  • Rt Revd Paul Bayes, Bishop of Liverpool
  • Rt Revd Andrew Watson, Bishop of Guildford (pending writ / introduction)

Lords Temporal with formal Christian affiliation:

  • Archbishop, Lord Robin Eames (N.Ireland)
  • Lord Donald Soper (Methodist)
  • Lord Timothy Beaumont (Anglican) 

Here is suggested template letter for supporters.

Should you wish to write to other Lords you could use this letter

Please try and amend or alter to make your approach personal and write as a refugee, human being etc.

You can find contact details of your chosen member of the House of Lords here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s